• Day, Date, Month

    February 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    242526272829  
  • What I said before

where do you glean your inspiration….

I mean I know some get inspiration from the belief in God but what I have been thinking lately is where I draw mine from…

I read about a few wonderful people here in blogger land..I try to draw hope and courage and a positive attitude from them and their posts…

I think it is about time I give credit to them for providing me with so much inspiration…

First to a person who does not know I read her blog…she is a woman blogging about her battle with C.A.N.C.E.R. breast cancer…she gives some of the hardest truth you ever read…she has pictures of her beautiful bald head and her new hair piece which she has named…all this and raising a child adopted from Vietnam. I linked to her through another blog that I read….Jenn’s thoughts…Jenn..your post this last time really hit me hard…you are a powerful powerful woman. The grace and beauty and the thoughtfulness which you have posted really really makes me happy that I met you and your beautiful DD’s.

Then there is Tudu…what a wonderful mom..the daily things that you do for your children woman you are a leader of mom’…I applaud you and look up to you.

To all my inspiration…I am so glad that I have you in my lives…you have touched some of the deepest feelings in me…eternally I am grateful..

so, do tell me, where do you get your inspiration…… de-lurk…give it a shot.

3 Responses

  1. You are so kind and thank you.

    I look to other people, people that are doing things (sometimes little things) right. I look to my children, past foster children and current adoptive ones. Seeing all they have gone through and what they are willing to do in order to heal and belong somewhere. I wake every morning (and most nights many times) reminded while they look tiny and scared, they are the bravest people I know.

  2. Awww Deb, thank you!!

    I guess if I were to stop and think about it, there would be a lot things. My faith is one. I am not the most practicing religious person I know, but when it gets tough, I know I am not alone. My family and incredible friends, and sometimes the most important is humor. I think whenever it gets tough, humor tones down the stress of any bad situation.

    Ultimately it is knowing it could always be worse. As hard as life is sometimes, I have had a great one, and have learned something useful from every negative experience I have had, and even more from those who have or are currently experiencing the “worse”.

    You are a wonderful friend!!

  3. That was hard! (figuring out how to post here)

    My inspiration: (apart from the Holy Spirit) From friends. More and more from “blog-friends”, maybe because I can find people with whom I have more in common – adopted kids, anyway.

    Also, from books. One of my favorite parenting books now is “Beyond Consequences…” by Heather Forbes, and her daily parenting “meditation” is so helpful.

    But other books, on a deeper level, enrich my life so much – Anthony Trollope, Elizabeth Gaskell, Charlotte Bronte, and Russian authors… Tolstoy, in particular, but Dostoevsky, too. And, religious authors – Therese of Lisieux, Thomas Merton, St. Francis de Sales, Richard Foster ….

Comments are closed.

