• Day, Date, Month

    July 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • What I said before

We saw ’em in St. Louie….

SO we had the best time in St. Louis…we arrived on Friday right at dinner time….this was after driving into and through some really intense storms…but I managed..I am not one to be afraid of driving in the rain in fact it is almost fun for me loving weather like I do..So we get in and rather then check into the hotel we head to meet up with Cindy and Paige at Fitz’s Root beer. While I was walking in I said to Griffin’ may I hold your hand?” and he replied yes, momma. A lady was walking in at the same time and said …”you said that so nicely, (meaning me) usually I just say, give me your hand!” I said that I try to be nice it sometimes helps…she laughed telling me that being the mom to many boys it gets hard…at that moment I thought wow this could be Paige….I would not know her if she was walking with me…Paige the mom to many boys….As we walk into the diner the lady walks to a different group and I see our group…knowing what Cindy looks like from her scrapbook pages. I though that would have been an odd way to meet someone you never met. So we had a great meal at Fritz’s and it was really coll to meet the moms I have talked to online for so long. The kids were great…Cindy had made these folders with pages of St. Louis sites for them to color. She also had our whole itinerary printed out…She has missed her true calling as a host. We then headed to the hotel to check in. The group was going to swim at the hotel and the moms were going to look at scrap books…that worked out fine until the kids became crabby because the large amount of chlorine in the pool…out they came and headed home. The boys went up to the room and I waited in the lobby for my friend Jen to arrive from British Columbia Canada. Her flight was delayed, in of all places, Chicago and she and her son were stuck there for five hours. They finally walked through the door of the hotel just before 10 PM. Hugs and good nights…it was a really long day for them that started at 5 am Pacific.

The next morning we headed down for breakfast and to meet Jen and Greg again..Greg is a really handsome young man…the trip they are making is at his request so that he can meet his Birth father who is incarcerated in Greenville IL and will be there for another 20+ years. He also wanted to meet up with his foster mom of 2 years and his birth mother and her family. When Jen said she was coming a few of us jumped on the band wagon to go see her. I was glad to have taken the opportunity to meet her she is just one of a driving force in Adoption Threads Forum . This morning we went to Grant’s Farm. Owned by the Busch family it is possible that this little gem will be disappearing soon. The group was Cindy and her two kids, Paige and her three boys and our family. I guess I should mention that Paige and Cindy are single moms and Jen and Kelly are married but their husbands did not make the trip. Richard was the man,… the only man. He was cool with it…meeting my crazy internet friends and their families. After we hit Grant’s Farm we went to lunch at Subway and then off to Turtle Playground…the kids had a blast climbing and running. We headed back to the hotel and rested (well, the boys and Richard tried to swim again) and wait for Jen and Kelly to arrive. Kelly called and Jen text, I made arrangements for dinner at Tigin’s. We met Greg’s foster mom and dad and their three kids at the pub. It was a good meal and a good time.

We finished off the night at City Museum. I will tell you that if you are in St. Louis and you have a child that loves to climb and have a ton of fun…GO HERE…seriously…we arrived at about 7PM and we stayed until 11PM but the kids wanted to stay longer and could have. We seriously saw about 1/3rd of the place. It is totally cool…The moms planted themselves in a copula and the kids played and climbed non-stop only coming back to check in and get drinks. The moms had a great conversation time. Cindy and Kelly missed out on some of it as they were playing with their kids…I am lucky Richard was there, Griffin wore him out. Cindy has two kids that are 7 and 3 she spent the time with her daughter. Kelly had really just met all of us and her kids did not know anyone to well so she played some too. She had a boy and a girl I think 6 and 7?? But we did love talking and watching the kids. It was a great place that we WILL be visiting again. Check out the web site and realize that it in NOWAY does the place any kind of justice.

After we all crashed the next morning was lazy and we slept a little…but we were up and off to see THE ARCH by 10AM. It was just Kelly and her two and us…everyone else had either been enough times or for Jen and Greg it was time for them to go on their second visit with birth dad. The arch is way cool. The pods that you travel to the top in are really neat… yes, if you wondered, the arch was started in 1963 so it is as old as me…The ride hope was looming we said good bye to our friends and we were of…I slept nearly 2 hours as did the boys. I drove the remainder of the way….in honor of our friend Greg who without him this trip would not have happened we had Greg’s Custard once we hit home.

This weekend was a cool chance for me to connect with other adoptive moms…they are not moms who adopted from Russia…there is a difference for me having one Domestic and one International. I am grateful for the connections that I have with moms in both categories and treasure the friendships that I am forming.

and now for some random pictures…click to see the entire photo…and someone let me know if they are not working.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
I have to find a picture of all the moms.

OH and did I mention that it was 400 degrees…and that when I came home I cut 3 inches off my hair! Yep vote I know glasses cpap and now hair…

One Response

  1. i LOVE the pic of spencer drinking his soda – just precious that face!!

Comments are closed.

