• Day, Date, Month

    August 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • What I said before

Donating more blood…

I arrived at the camp this morning all gung ho to have a great day. The weather was cooperating I had sprayed every inch of my body with a thick coat of bug spray and there was gentle breeze in the air. As I walked to camp I noticed Griffin running off to the tent and Spencer playing with friends…Richard was chatting with some of the other parents…I had stopped at the store and bought after bite stuff…I handed it to Richard and he looked at me and said…umm Griffin was eaten alive…OK so how bad could it be??  I walk to the tent and see him sitting with his back to me.

He turns.

I look.

I gasp.

I tear up.

I hug and hold him.

He has no less then 50 mosquito bites on his itty bitty body with about 10 on his face alone. One eye is swelling closed and his legs…bites that go completely around his little calves.

I am the worst mommy ever.

no, wait.

I left him in the capable care of his dad.

What the hell happened.

It would seem that most of the younger children at camp suffered the worst. Not knowing to slap them as they bite. Even with reapplication the mosquitoes were just vicious. SO I spray him head to toe with itch stuff…it works for about an hour.  I reapply…finally at 1:30 he and I leave…he crashes in the car almost immediatly. My poor little bug…once home he takes a warm bubble big bath with the jets on. His request.  I am happy to do anything I can to make him feel better.  We are then off to get Zyrtec and dose him up.  An hour later the itching has totally subsided and he is comfortable. There is a slight chance that I over did the dose but he is comfortable…

I could not bring myself to photograph him..he looks so pitiful…he has amtching bites under each eye and next to each eye and one or two on the one lid….

8 Responses

  1. Ohhh poor guy!! Growing up in bush country of southern Ontario, I’ve been there! The worst I ever had was after horseback riding throught long grass. We stopped counting bites on my left leg when we got to 100. We never bothered to count the right one!

    I hope he feels better soon.

  2. We have mosquitos the size of sparrows up here. I use Off – Sportsman. Its like deep woods on steroids. And its the only thing that works for us. And yes, it has a warning not for kids… but, I do spray it on the kids clothing, using the regular stuff on their skin,

  3. Could you just tell people its the chicken pox? 🙂

  4. Poor thing.

    My kids freak out when they get bitten by anything. I carry a little tube of hydrocortisone around in my purse for just in case. We call it fondly “itchy medicine.”

    Hope he’s feeling better soon!

  5. Sorry, Griffin! Itching stinks!

    I hope that they quickly go away and stop bothering him soon. This is definately one of the worst things about summer!

  6. Jens what is bad about that comment is that yes, it could pass for chicken pox on his legs if they weren’t the size of his leg!!

    Thanks for all your thoughts guys,,,we are getting through it…he knows to be be gentle when he scratches so they are not opening up.

  7. poor bubba. plz kiss him on the neck for me. (you don’t have to tell him it’s from me… that might scare him)

  8. he knows you, he remembers you through photos and Kate and Anna…he loved your kiss…

Comments are closed.

