• Day, Date, Month

    December 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • What I said before

The craziness of the season

My mom sent me the Steel Drum Island Christmas Collection Vol.2 and I am listening to it as I write.  It is funny to hear the ‘Island sound’ for all the Christmas Classic songs I love to listen to and sing along with. It is not easy to do with this little added Island flare but it is a fun change to the season this year.  I am not really an Island, hot weather, gal but I do enjoy a variety of music and this fits. I admit is is kind of odd to listen to the Island version of Christmas looking out on the beautiful white, white snow that is glistening out the window.

I have been way to busy.  I have given myself lots of ways to have way too much to do.  That is OK. I am surviving. This week I had a somewhat free Monday morning.  Had free lattes at McD’s with some moms from preschool…I had sweet tea of course and it was not free…Griffin and I have been making cookies after school and on non school days this week and the end of last. We have managed to make Toffee Squares, Peppermint melt-aways, Peanut butter blossoms, Milk Chocolate fudge and today possibly ginger snaps and/or chocolate candy cane and/or Spicy Molasses cookies. Just have to see how energetic momma is…this weekend we weill be making spritz cookies and decorating sugar cookies as a family. I will have to replace the already eaten toffee squares and fudge at some point too.

I have planned the Christmas Eve dinner and will be having a fresh pork roast and hand made/homemade potato dumplings and broccoli and carrots(DH does not east broccoli).  It will be a warm cozy meal. Lots of cookies for dessert. On Christmas Day afternoon sometime we will trudge through the snow to my SIL and share the day with them. I will most likely be cooking whatever it is they have purchased for dinner as they never seem to be able to get it together. I will bring a huge amount of cookies for dessert.  SIL will go to the fancy bakery and get ultra fancy, uber expensive desserts and they will sit and all the homemade cookies will be devoured. She will never learn.  The kids will have a blast.

Back to the craziness..Wednesday I performed my duties as co-head-room mom. I planned and ran the holiday party in Spence’s class. We made adorable mini-me snowmen from danimal bottles and had cute powered sugar snowmen in white popcorn snow. We played snowball toss with marshmallows and winter words scramble. The kids had a good  time.  So did the moms. Spencer is so lucky to have such a great class and teacher.  I am beyond pleased with the very large school system we have though some are overly skeptical about it’s size and ability to meet the needs of the kids, we have nothing but good things to say. I sent in carrots and ranch dressing (at Spence’s request) today for the whole day read-a-thon pajama day. The kids were stoked about this already yesterday so I am sure it is a hit today. Tonight Spence has his scout pizza party…another exciting thing for us to all do together..we have yet to go see the holiday lights at the Cuneo Museum which we do every year.  I think the best thing I did this week was make this huge a$$ pot of chicken noodle soup.  We ate it  for dinner Monday Tuesday and Wednesday.  I could eat it again tonight if a.) there was any left and b.) we did not have the pizza party….

I am so grateful for the grocery game and the possibilities that it has allowed me to have this year with Christmas shopping. The message board there has had way to numerous hot tips for gifts that I was looking for this year.  It allowed me to do so much more shopping then I would have had I not found them. I have my shopping done and all is wrapped and ready to go.  I have been sneaking wrapping in here and there when Griffin is occupied.

Tomorrow is the last day of school before winter break.  I am looking forward to winter break this year and to having some good time with friends we don’t get to see to much now that we all have school aged children. The boys have friends that they have not seen since summer and are looking forward to getting together these next two weeks.

I can assure you that I will not have time to post till the schedule goes back to normal in the new year on the 5th of January. But if I can sneak some time in to do so I certainly will…

This weekend marks the end of time for us to get our Christmas cards complete. I stole part of my card idea from my friend Sybille.  I am not sure how she accomplished it and I am having such a difficult time but there will be cards and a photo and they will come before the middle of January.  This weekend also marks what would have been my dads 75th birthday.  ( this July 2009 it will be 10 years since he passed away.)  The same day as the day as my dads birthday is the anniversary of Griffins court day in Russia. Of course his finally family day is December 24th. The day we brought him into our home, the day he was home forever. We did not actually leave court with Griffin that day.  We went back to our hotel/apartment without him.  Court was in Izhevsk 3 hours away from Glazov and it was after 5PM local. There was not going to be a return trip to get him.  He was brought to us the next morning by Svetlana (our translator)and her husband.  Do you all remember reading about the elevator that dropped three floors with Svetlana and Griffin and I in it.  Yeah, that was the morning we headed to Moscow…before leaving the Chicago.

It is obvious that we, you and I, have a lot to celebrate and be thankful for.  There are so many that do not. My thoughts are with those at this time of the year.  Happy Birthday Jesus, thank  you for all the ways you have touched my life that is the little prayer we teach our boys.

