• Day, Date, Month

    January 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • What I said before

Angry…

  • I am not bothered by the occasional passerby who stops in and reads my blog one or two days.  In fact, I do not have any blocks on my blog because I don’t really care about others stumbling in, I do it on occasion to others  myself…the things I write about here are not earth shattering or news worthy, they are just about us and our lives, our truths and experiences. They are a way that I can keep in touch with the many people whom I have met over the years both IRL and on the internet.  I do not give out more information then I am comfortable with and if I ever decide to I will lock those posts and give out passwords.  For now though, I am OK with what is here.
  • What does bother me is the people who live within my comfort zone.  Within a radius of driving distance less then a half hour. To me coming and reading here when you live close enough to me to ‘find’ me and my family yep, that bother me a heck of a lot. When you read here more then a day or two, yep that bothers me. When you never comment, even when called out to do so,  yep, that bother me a lot. Your reading at home I think because you read at all times of the day and night. That bother’s me too.  So, you see, while I know that the internet is there for everyone and I have chosen to take part in the blogging experience, publicly, with our borders, I think there is a way that I can block IP addresses, here at wordpress, from reading my blog.  If there is not then I will have to move or find another place to blog where I can block and IP.
  • I am not a paranoid person. I am not frightened easily and am not frightened by this.  What I am is pissed. To think that someone in or near Wheeling, Illinois is reading here VERY regularly at all times of the day bothers me. To have been called out and then not reply…bad manners. Perhaps I should post the IP address and see who responds to it.  My guess is that they just stop reading here. Move on to someone else to make them their ‘victim’.
  • I will say that if it is someone that I know, I am sorry.  But I can not imagine who is reading from that area that I know.  Most of the people I know read are not from so close.  I have a few local friends that read but I ‘know’ where they come from.
  • So I put it to you all should I; a.) post the IP address and see if I get a response? or b.) just find a way to block the IP. Heck, c.) I don’t have to do anything because the chicken flies the coop.
7 Responses

  1. just block ’em.

    sorry for this.

  2. I think I have to go private…I don’t think I can block them as they are to chicken to comment…they just lurk…still thinking.

  3. it’s probably someone you know…they just don’t know where their IP address is coming from…

    My brother’s IP says Northbrook usually….He’s no where near Northbrook.

    I thought you were going private anyways.

  4. I liken this behavior to showing up at an Open House but skulking around and peering in the windows while hiding in the bushes.

    It’s open! You’re invited! Come in the front door or don’t come around at all.

    Sheesh.

  5. Sorry this is happening Deb. I wondered for a minute if it was me. LOL!! I am not sure where my IP comes from and since I am in a neighboring state…..LOL!!

    I say, if you are unable to block the IP, and it makes you that uncomfortable, go private.

    Again….so sorry hon. It really sucks to have someone lurk in the background and act like a shadow in your comfort zone.

  6. hi, d. judy here.

    it could be some variety of spiderbot. a few years ago i was getting hundreds–HUNDREDS of hits on my blog, every day, all of it very concentrated in an extremely emotionally intense period. i have some friends from my past who are a bit OCD–i’ve also had a few stalkers–so it… freaked me out, to say the least. ultimately i made some entries private, took the sitemeter off my journal and tried my best to stop thinking about it, because it was messing with my head too much. the thing about the internet is you really can’t know who’s reading–and sometimes it really is just some bizarro indexing robot.

    i have looked a few times, but i don’t think i’ve commented yet. i’m really really sorry if i’m the lurking IP, but this sounds like a bigger situation than anything i could have done. we’ve just changed our service, so i don’t know where i’m logging from yet, but it should be somewhere out east, not wheeling.

  7. Thanks Judy…nice to see you….burnbeforereading HA I like it

Comments are closed.

